The best non-spring-break ever

Since I dropped my second two classes of the semester and I was doing an online program anyways, I didn’t really get a spring break. This is the first time in 15 years I haven’t had a week off in the spring. Since everyone else I know is on spring break this week, I’ve dubbed this week my “non-spring-break” and it’s been wonderful!

I’ve been working all week, but Monday through Wednesday I spent all day on the mower. This may sound terrible to some people, but I thoroughly enjoy mowing! It’s one of my favorite things to do at work! I got to work on my chaco tan (which is coming along wonderfully, even after just 3 days), the weather was beautiful, and I spent all day doing something I love. It was awesome!

After work on Monday we took a girls trip to Metropolis to see the Superman statue. Jennifer, Grace, & Jennifer’s friend Hannah had never been. It was a good night and of course we took lots of pictures. (:

Tuesday and Wednesday night were spent kayaking (which is also one of my favorite things). I am LOVING the warmer weather & my new kayak. My goal is to go on a weekend (or longer) trip and just kayak down some body of water and camp at night. Sounds like a blast to me! I just need to find some friends with their own kayaks! That trip will have to wait until after summer at least, so for now, nightly trips will have to do. (: 

Things were going great until last night. With all this time to think while mowing and kayaking as well, I started thinking a lot about Daddy. I hate cancer. Things really started to get to me last night, but I had a really great dream while sleeping so I was fine when I woke up this morning….until Aunt Net called. Then everything just overwhelmed me again. I hate that I can’t do anything for him. I can’t help him feel better. I can’t give him energy. I’m helpless when it comes to his cancer. All I can do is pray, which is definitely powerful, but it doesn’t always have immediate results. Thankfully I work with amazing people who are totally understanding of the situation, and it worked out today where I could come home and hang out with daddy all day. It was such a good day just being able to be there for him and do things around the house that needed to be done. AND I got to make mom & dad a cake that I hope they will love. I found it on pinterest (of course!) and thought it would be a perfect pick-me-up for them. You can find the recipe here. It is supposed to be the cake version of the Samoa Girl Scout Cookies. We haven’t tried it yet, but hopefully it is as good as it looks! 

That pretty much sums up my week so far. I hope you are having a great week as well!

Much love,

Leave a Reply

